Guides

Replace Existing Media

Asset owners and Media Library administrators can replace a file with a new version of that file.

When a file is replaced, any links to the old version of the file will automatically display the new replacement file. While links remain the same, the new file will have a fresh set of analytics, beginning at the moment of replacement.

If you've made copies of a file to several Media Libraries, and then replace that file, only the copy you replace will change – the copies in other libraries will still be the original version of the file.

To replace a file, navigate to the Media Info page for that file, by clicking the three dots to the right of the file name, then "Settings".

Once you're on the Media Info page, if you're the asset owner or Media Library Administrator, you should see a "Replace Media" link in the upper-left of the screen, below the upload date information.

Click "Replace Media."

You'll now be asked to either upload or record the replacement file.

Once you've uploaded or recorded the new file, you'll be able to give it a new name and description, if you'd like.

Now that the file has been replaced, anywhere the original file was embedded will show the replacement file. And any links to the original file will now point to the replacement file.

The replacement file's title and description will override the original file's title and description.

Note: Depending on your library sort order, your replacement file may appear at the top of your library view, because it is technically the "newest upload," despite it replacing an older file.

From the Media Info page you can also: Choose a Custom Thumbnail, Attach Closed Captions, Add Tags, Change owner, View Analytics, and Remove from Media Library.

View Support page